© Devon Beekeepers' Association 2011 - Registered Charity Number 270675

Home News & Events About Bees Contact Us Site Map

Find on this site

About DBKA

The Devon Beekeepers’ Association (DBKA) is a not-for-profit organisation run on a voluntary basis for the benefit of bees and beekeepers. It is affiliated to the British Beekeepers' Association (BBKA). We actively encourage membership to provide the help resources needed to promote beekeeping and to support beginners and 'old hands' alike.

Our aim is to promote and further the craft of beekeeping and to advance the education of the public in the importance of honeybees in the environment.

We plan to achieve this with our eleven Branch Associations by:

Ensuring that the latest information, underpinned by research, is available for all our members through the Devon 'Beekeeping' journal and our website.

As part of the British Beekeepers' Association (BBKA) our members enjoy a range of benefits including - BBKA News, Insurance and much more.

Many of us are now considering how we can live more sustainably. There is a growing interest in where our food comes from and the key part in which bees play. The health of our bees has a direct impact on our own well being so it is vital that we care for them properly. Our interests also extend to other pollinators, local flora, the climate and environment as the fate of honeybees is clearly linked to these.

Founded in 1875 DBKA has a long history which is described in interesting detail in Ron Brown's 'One Thousand Years of Devon Beekeeping'. copies of this booklet are held in all branch libraries.

 'BEEKEEPING', our Association journal also forms an interesting historical record. It has been published continuously since 1935, 10 issues per year. There are three complete archival sets in the county - two held by the editor at the moment and one at the Devon County Records Office.

The Downing Memorial Bowl

The Downing Bowl was presented by the South Devon Beekeepers in memory of Mr S.A.L. & Mrs H. Downing who died in 1962.  The South Devon Beekeepers' Association (SDBKA) was a group of southern members which broke away from the DBKA in 1953 and returned in 1967.  In the first few years the Bowl was presented to the member of the former SDBKA making the most worthwhile contribution to the craft.  The handsome silver bowl is presented annually at the AGM, and the decision as to who should receive the award is decided by the Award Committee made up of the current and the previous 2 year’s recipients.  The panel does not suggest names themselves but choose from those names given to them.  

The award has been made since 1965 and is currently given to the DBKA member who is considered to have contributed most to the Association in recent years.  Usually, this is to someone who has contributed at County Association level as well as for their Branch, but the nominee does not have to be a committee member.  It is a rule that it is not awarded to the same person more than once.  On four previous occasions it has been awarded to a husband and wife team.  Every name is considered and all names are kept confidential.


The Downing Memorial Bowl

1965  -C J Jeffrey

1966  -George Gill

1967  -Eric Morison

1968  -R S Weatherburn  

1969  -Mr & Mrs F Wyatt  

1970  -W H Tunkin

1971  -H J S Clark   

1972  -R E G Green   

1973  -E D Milledge

1974  -Miss J K Hicks   

1975  -D M Hobbs   

1976  -E M Morison

1977  -Not awarded

1978  -Mr & Mrs C A T Price  

1979 -George Gill

1980  -H W B Luxton   

1981 -B L Pritchard   

1982 -W E Paddison

1983  Basil Salter   

1984  -Jack & Bar Trew  

1985 -Arthur Jones

1986 -P & Peggy Rosenfeld  

1987  -Kingsley Law   

1988  -Gordon Hill

1989  -Kay Thomas   

1990  -David W Loo   

1991  -Cyril R Gould

1992  -Frank Alston   

1993  -Ron Brown   

1994 -Jim Stevenson

1995 -Reg Gove

1996 -Brian Gant  

1997 -Henry Morris

1998 -Len Davie   

1999 -Chris Utting  

2000 -Jenny Buckle

2001 -Glyn Davies   

2002 -David Milford   

2003 -Denis Giles

2004 -Mike Deane   

2005 -Jane Ducker   

2006 -Bob Ogden

2007 -Beryl Smailes   

2008 -Dr Mick Street  

2009 -Richard Ball

2010  -Roger Lacey    

2011  -Alicia & Bob Normand  

2012  -Nigel Lawrance

2013  -Richard Howes   

2014  -Ruth Neal   

2015  -Stephen Ide

2016 - Jim Mogrige

Home Presidents Day/Agm About us Asian Hornet Associations "BEEKEEPING" Bees and Honey Branch Diaries Contacts DEVON COUNTY SHOW Education Equipment/Suppliers For Sale and Wanted Forthcoming Events Hive Sizes Hygienic Bees Insurance Library Members Area Trophies and Awards Useful links Video Links